Guest Post: Brent’s 1st Week in Singapore

**Here’s an update about Brent’s first week here in Singapore. At the end of the post you’ll find a brief Addy update!**

Gosh, I have been here over a week! How time flies when you are having fun.

Besides having fun with Addy and helping out around the house, I have been having fun in Singapore.

Cooking DinnerIMG_0880

Food is an addiction of mine and I have been enjoying what Singapore has to offer. While Taylor and Mary have had their fill of the hawker centers, I have not. Hawker centers have been set up by the Singapore government to provide inexpensive local food by Mom and Pop kind of shops. There are sometimes hundreds of shops to choose from in the hawker centers. And I love the food. So far I have had char siu over rice (slices of roasted pork in a sauce over rice); laksa ( a savory coconut soup with I don’t know what in it); char kway teow ( a noodle dish that is incredible – don’t know what is in it and don’t want to know); white carrot cake (not the carrot cake you’re thinking of – this is an egg, garlic, radish dish with seasonings fried to a crispy deliciousness); murtabak (an incredible lamb and onion filled thin pancake layers with a wonderful dipping sauce); and chinese barbecue filled steamed buns that were delicious. I still have a list of other hawker stalls to go to!2014-10-26 11.05.38 2014-10-26 11.05.28 2014-10-30 12.59.02

In addition, Mary has taken me out to eat. We went to a great swiss buffet kind of restaurant. We also went to a Chinese dumpling restaurant that was great.

Lunch at Din Tia Fung2014-10-29 13.00.54

I’ve also had fun being tourist. If anyone gets over here, they should definitely go to the Singapore Zoo. I went today. It is rated one of the best zoos in the world and I can see why. The landscaping is exquisite. You hardly feel like the animals are in enclosures the way they have it set up. And you can get so close to the animals. I was one foot away from a baby baboon with the mother watching me. It was amazing.2014-11-04 11.28.28 2014-11-04 13.10.41 2014-11-04 09.49.13 2014-11-04 13.12.00

I’ve also enjoyed just walking around. I went to Little India on Sunday. Taylor and Mary said “Don’t –it’s too crazy”. But I like crazy, so I went. It was a blast. EVERYBODY was there! Lots of families all dressed up in their Indian attire –especially the women and children. I imagined this is what India must be like. People everywhere. The smells, the Bollywood music, the bartering, all the hustle and bustle, the food available as well as almost anything else you can imagine. It was so much fun!2014-11-02 12.44.07 2014-11-02 13.05.32

The one nice thing about Singapore is there is NO crime. You feel so safe. Criminals are handled VERY harshly by the government. Mary and I took Addy out last night for a stroll. We were in some dark corners of the Singapore River, but we were never concerned about our safety. You don’t need to be. It is a wonderful feeling.

Of course the highlight of the trip has been Addy! When she gets a little kranky, I can hold her like a football and start singing to her and she LOVES it. Stops crying and just looks at me. If any of you have heard me sing, you would tell Addy she is crazy – I am the worst singer in the world! But she loves it and that makes this grandfather happy! She’s an amazing little girl and I love her!IMG_0837-2 IMG_0849

Addy Update-

Addy5WeekToday marks 5 weeks with Addy! We’ve had a relaxing week around home with a few outings. We are having more success with our outings, especially when we can use a baby carrier. Addy has been taking a bottle of breast milk every few days and seems to be doing well with it. She loves bath time! Taylor snapped some great shots during one of our recent baths. Bath Time-6 Bath Time-7 Bath Time-11 Bath Time-15 Bath Time-17 Bath Time-20

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Brent’s 1st Week in Singapore

  1. I love how much Mr. Bowditch has explored and isn’t afraid to go out on his own! AND he seems to be a very adventurous eater! As always love the pictures of sweet Addy 🙂

  2. Wonderful pictures! It is so great to see the generations together. And Thank You for sharing Addy! I love to see your pictures! It’s been a long time since my girls were that age, and it is fun to see a beautiful little girl that I don’t have to stay up all night with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

