Be Our Guest: Mandy Style

Today we have a guest post from our visitor, Mandy! Today will be an introduction, but later in the week she’ll share some of her experiences in Singapore with everyone. Hope you enjoy! If you have any questions for her, leave it in the comments box below!

Meet Our Guest! photo (13)

How do you know Mary and Taylor?

I met Taylor at the end of freshmen year at Purdue through friends of his from high school. We continued to be friends through out college, always living with in a few blocks from each other. Taylor’s apartment at Purdue was always where the dart tournaments and other shenanigans went down.

During fall semester of sophomore year of college, Mary and I had a Stress Management class together. We sat next to each other on the first day and the friendship never looked back. Through out our years at Purdue, we had most of our classes together, coached volleyball together and survived student teacher together.

Some would say I am part of the reason Mary and Taylor are Mr. and Mrs. B! They met junior year while we were out celebrating Purdue’s homecoming. Since then, there have been many vacations and adventures with Mary, Taylor, and Mandy all together.

Where are you traveling from?

Chicago. I have lived in the city for 5 years and grew up in the suburbs.

How long are you staying in Singapore with Mary and Taylor?

I will be in Singapore for 11 days. Just enough time to recover from jet lag, see some sights, and get sick sick of each other. (Just kidding!)

Do you plan to travel anywhere else while visiting?

After leaving Singapore, I will be traveling to Sydney, Australia for 5 days and Queenstown, New Zealand for 5 days. I figured I am already on this side of the world, why not check some more cities off the list! I am a teacher, so it is easy for me to take a 23 day vacation.

How was your flight?

I flew from Chicago to Singapore with a connection in Hong Kong. The Chicago to Hong Kong flight was 15 hours. I was lucky enough to have a friend upgrade me to business class, so I watched lots of movies, enjoyed the service and lay flat seat. I only slept 3ish hours on this flight. I have never been a great sleeper on planes, so that didn’t surprise me.

I had a 2 hour lay over in Hong Kong. The scenery was beautiful from the airport, Hong Kong has officially been added to my list of places to travel!

The flight from Hong Kong to Singapore was 3 hours, nothing compared to the previous flight! I was able to sleep a little on this flight and watched another movie (taking my movie count for the trip to 5!).

It was a pretty uneventful day of travel. The most exiting thing was flying around the typhoon over the South China Sea. I wish it hadn’t been dark, so I could have seen the clouds.

When I arrived in Singapore and made my duty free purchase, Mary was waiting with a smile and sign on the other side of customs. It was great to see a familiar and smiling face after 24 hours of traveling.

What are your first impressions of Singapore?

All I have seen so far is the drive from the airport in the dark and Mary and Taylor’s condo. In my sleep deprived state last night, I compared Singapore to Florida because the humidity and palm trees. The driving also flew me for a loop. Opposite side of the road and opposite side of the car. Mary did a great job, and I only had one time where I got startled by cars approaching. One other interesting thing I noticed was the number of people out and about at 1:15 in the morning. Not really sure why, but it surprised me.

What are you looking forward to while visiting?

Mary has planned lots for us to do while I am here. I am looking forward to experiencing life as an expat wife and the culture of Singapore. Mary and I also have a few TV shows we both love to watch together that are cued up for our viewing when we are tired from all our sightseeing and eating! Of course, I am also excited to spend time with Taylor, although I am sure he isn’t too excited to have both the women who bug, nag, and tease him the most under one roof.

One thought on “Be Our Guest: Mandy Style

Leave a Reply

